2016 AusIMM Award Winners

Distinguished recipients of AusIMM Awards

A distinguished list of contributors to the AusIMM and the minerals industry have been recognised in the 2016 AusIMM Awards.

Recipients include Charles Sartain, Denby Ward, AusIMM Past President Greg Chalmers and Ray Tolhurst. These and other distinguished professionals have made significant contributions to their Branches, the Institute and the industry.

The awards were presented at the AusIMM Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday 18 June 2016 in Melbourne, Victoria.

View the photographs from the dinner here.

Recipients of AusIMM Awards for 2016:

The Institute Medal

Charles Sartain FAusIMM

President’s Award

Denby Ward FAusIMM

Honorary Fellowship

Greg Chalmers HonFAusIMM(CP)

Beryl Jacka Award

Ray Tolhurst MAusIMM

Professional Excellence

Helgi Stedman MAusIMM
David Wiseman MAusIMM

Professional Excellence - Jim Torlach Health and Safety Award

Stewart Bell

New Professional Award

Jacinta Riedel GAusIMM

G B O’Malley Award

Ryan Lee GAusIMM

Best Paper Prize

"Life of Asset Planning Uncertainty and Value Optimisation of the Iron Ore Business from Exploration to Market to Closure" - McClusky, J MAusIMM and Barros, N MAusIMM (published in the proceedings of the Ore body Modelling and Strategic Mine Planning Conference 2014.)

Institute or Minerals Sector Service

Mark Chalmers FAusIMM
Christopher Sykes MAusIMM(CP)
Terence Fisher FAusIMM(CP)

Sir Willis Connolly Memorial Medal

Dr Tim Napier-Munn FAusIMM(CP)